Don't have an account? Click Here
Courtesy: Washington State Athletics
Thompson, Roche, Dunning Named First Team All-Pac-10
Courtesy: Washington State Athletics
Release: 11/26/2001
Print RSS
Related Links

Nov. 26, 2001

PULLMAN, Wash. --- Senior free safety Lamont Thompson, junior offensive guard Derrick Roche, and sophomore kicker Drew Dunning represented Washington State on the All-Pacific-10 First Team, voted on by the conference's coaches and released Monday.

The Cougars landed seven student-athletes on the Pac-10 First and Second Teams, and 12 more received honorable mention. WSU's 19 players receiving honors was the highest total in the conference.

Thompson led the Pac-10 with eight interceptions this season, including four against UCLA. The Richmond, Calif. native ends his career as the Pac-10's all-time leader in interceptions with 22.

Roche, a junior from Kent, Wash., helped an inexperienced batch of running backs ground out 1,515 yards this season and the Cougars rack up 435.6 total yards per game, the fourth-best mark in school history.

Dunning won a crowded kicking battle during fall camp and went on to convert 14 of 18 field goal attempts and 44 of 48 point-after attempts, becoming Washington State's first All-Pac-10 kicker since Jason Hanson from 1989 to 1991.

Junior quarterback Jason Gesser, who is on pace to challenge the career passing and total offense records at WSU, was named to the second Team, along with his favorite target, wide receiver Nakoa McElrath. Sophomore defensive tackle Rien Long and senior linebacker Raonall Smith were selected to the Second Team on the opposite side of the ball.

The Cougars led the Pac-10 with 12 players receiving Pac-10 Honorable Mention. Defensive ends D.D. Acholonu, Isaac Brown, and Tupo Tuupo offensive linemen Josh Parrish and Joey Hollenbeck, defensive backs Marcus Trufant and Billy Newman, running back Dave Minnich, punter Alan Cox, linebacker James Price and special teams standout Curtis Nettles all made the list.

WSU's three first team players are the most since 1996 when James Darling, Scott Sanderson, and Shawn Tims were selected to the team.

QB	Joey Harrington, Sr., Oregon
RB	DeShaun Foster, Sr., UCLA
RB	Clarence Farmer, So., Arizona
WR	Shaun McDonald, So., Arizona State
WR	Keenan Howry, Jr., Oregon
TE	Justin Peelle, Sr., Oregon
OL	Eric Heitmann, Sr., Stanford
OL	Levi Jones, Sr., Arizona State
OL	Scott Peters, Sr., Arizona State
OL	Derrick Roche, Jr., Washington State
OL	Kyle Benn, Sr., Washington

DE	Terrell Suggs, So., Arizona State
DT	Larry Tripplett, Sr., Washington
DT	Eric Manning, Jr., Oregon State
DE	Kenyon Coleman, Sr., UCLA
LB	Robert Thomas, Sr., UCLA
LB	Coy Wire, Sr., Stanford
LB	Lance Briggs, Jr., Arizona
DB	Troy Polamalu, Jr., USC
DB	Tank Williams, Sr., Stanford
DB	Ricky Manning, Jr., UCLA
DB	Lamont Thompson, Sr., Washington State

PK	Drew Dunning, So., Washington State
P	Nate Fikse, Jr., UCLA
KOR	Brian Allen, Sr., Stanford
PR	Keenan Howry, Jr., Oregon
ST	Kevin Arbet, Jr., USC

QB	Jason Gesser, Jr.
WR	Nakoa McElrath, Sr.

DT	Rien Long, So.
LB	Raonall Smith, Sr.

DE	D.D. Acholonu, So.
DE	Isaac Brown, So.
WR      Mike Bush, Jr.
P	Alan Cox, Sr.
OL	Joey Hollenbeck, Sr.
RB	Dave Minnich, Sr.
ST	Curtis Nettles, Jr.
DB	Billy Newman, Sr.
OL	Josh Parrish, So.
LB	James Price, Sr.
DB	Marcus Trufant, Jr.
DE	Tupo Tuupo, Sr.
Washington State Cougars
Cougar Corner