Don't have an account? Click Here
Three Cougars Named CRCA National Scholar-Athletes
Courtesy: Washington State Athletics
Release: 05/25/2011
Print RSS
Related Links

May 25, 2011

GOLD RIVER, Calif. - Washington State University rowers Liz Beck, Ann Hoag and Kasia Rademacher were each named 2011 National Scholar-Athletes by the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA), the organization announced.

Those named as CRCA National Scholar Athletes must have met all eligibility rules for her institution, be in her second, third or fourth year of eligibility, rowed in a minimum of 75 percent of the spring races, and maintained a cumulative 3.5 GPA or higher throughout her career.

A senior from Ridgefield, Wash., Beck has participated with the varsity four boat this season and is a food science and human nutrition major. Hoag (Bellingham, Wash.) and Rademacher (Hermiston, Ore.) are both juniors. A hospitality business major, Hoag has spent time with the second varsity eight crew this season and traveled to the NCAA Championships as a spare. An English major, Rademacher, like Beck, has spent the majority of the season with the varsity four crew and will compete with the boat at the NCAA Championships.

The Cougars will begin competition at the NCAA Rowing Championships Friday, May 27. Competition runs through Sunday, May 29 at the Sacramento State Aquatics Center on Lake Natoma in Gold River, Calif.

2011 CRCA National Scholar-Athletes
Liz Beck, Washington State
Sarah Bolmer, Stanford
Susan Bryukhanov, Stanford
Tiffany Dao, Stanford
Julia Dissen, Oregon State
Melanie Grindle, USC
Claire Grover, Stanford
Marielle Higgins, Stanford
Ann Hoag, Washington State
Alaizah Koorji, UCLA
Katherine McFetridge, USC
Emily McLaughlin, UCLA
Bridget Moran, California
Lauren Morgenthaler, Oregon State
Alexa Ortiz, Oregon State
Hilary Polis, Oregon State
Laura Pomatto, USC
Kasia Rademacher, Washington State
Erika Roddy, Stanford
Maggie Simpson, California
Melissa Sloan, Oregon State
Tanya Smith, UCLA
Helen Tinkus, USC
Caroline Trawick, USC
Leslie Urban, Oregon State
Michelle Vezie, Stanford
Lenka Vrecnikova, USC

Washington State Cougars Cougar Athletic Fund