Don't have an account? Click Here
WSU Takes First in Collegiate Eight OGE NightSprint at Oklahoma
Courtesy: Washington State Athletics
Release: 10/09/2010
Print RSS
Related Links

Oct. 9, 2010

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. - Washington State University women's rowing captured the women's collegiate eight OGE NightSprint championship and placed second in the women's collegiate four OGE NightSprint, Saturday evening on the Oklahoma River.

"We did a ton of racing today and I think we learned a tremendous amount," WSU head coach Jane LaRiviere said. "It's early in the season and we have a lot to be motivated by."

A tradition since 2006, the NightSprint is a 500-meter race held under the lights in the dark night. The 2006 NightSprint final held in conjunction with the Head of the Oklahoma marked the first night race featured in the United States.

After finishing second in the women's collegiate eight head race earlier in the day to earn a spot in the Grand Final of the NightSprint, the Cougars' A boat edged out Stanford A to take first in the race with a time of 1:31.300. Stanford, the only other Pac-10 team at the regatta, came in right behind WSU with a time of 1:31.400. Coxed by Lexi Ryman, the boat consisted of Annie Eastwood (bow), Sarah Wolff, Liz England, Lisa Roman, Justine Galbraith, Christina Kinck, Katie Dick, and Natasha Ostopovich (stroke). The Pac-10 asserted itself in the eight races during the day, with a Stanford-Washington State finish in the head race earlier in the day and a WSU-Stanford finish in the NightSprint.

"It was a very close race, it was back and forth," LaRiviere said. "It's exactly how racing should be. Stanford is an awesome opponent and this time we came out on top by a tenth of a second."

In the NightSprint, the WSU B squad finished a second ahead of Tulsa A for fifth place with a time of 1:40.600. The Cougars' B boat consisted of Liz Beck (bow), Kasia Rademacher, Hannah deVos, Corinna Sharick, Mollie McCabe, Crystal Martin, Allie Reilly, Rachel McNeil (stroke) and Heidi Kim (coxswain). The B team placed fourth in the qualifier head race earlier in the day to earn a spot in the Grand Final.

Washington State finished the night on another high note as the collegiate four A squad placed second in the NightSprint Grand Final with a time of 1:48.500. The crew consisting of Kasia Rademacher, Allie Reilly, Corinna Sharick, Sarah Powell and coxswain Lexi Ryman, just missed out on first place which went to Tulsa A with a time of 1:46.900. The Cougars advanced to the NightSprint Grand Final after placing fourth in the women's collegiate eight head race earlier in the day.

In the same race, WSU's B, consisting of Hannah deVos, Crystal Martin, Mollie McCabe, Rachel McNeil and Heidi Kim (coxswain), placed fifth with a time of 1:50.600. The B crew placed sixth in the qualifier head race earlier in the day to advance to the Grand Final.

The Head of the Oklahoma concludes Sunday as four WSU crews compete in the open two at 9 a.m. CT and two squads compete in the open four at 10:55 a.m. CT.

Women's Collegiate Eight OGE NightSprint Grand Final (Saturday, Oct. 9, 8:05 p.m. CT)
1. Washington State A, 01:31.300
2. Stanford A, 01:31.400
3. Oklahoma A, 01:34.700
4. Iowa A, 01:37.500
5. Washington State B, 01:40.600
6. Tulsa A, 6 01:41.500

Women's Collegiate Four OGE NightSprint Grand Final (Saturday, Oct. 9, 9:50 p.m. CT)
1. Tulsa A 1:46.900
2. Washington State A 1:48.500
3. Stanford A 1:50.300
4. Oklahoma A (Nicole Furmanek) 1:50.400
5. Washington State B 1:50.600
6. Tulsa B 1:52.800

Women's Collegiate Eight (Top 12) (Saturday, Oct. 9, 12:30 p.m. CT)
1. Stanford A (13:47.228), 2. Washington State A (14:04.044), 3. Texas A (14:12.219), 4. Washington State B (14:17.219) , 5. Iowa A (14:18.311), 6. Oklahoma A (14:33.504), 7. Tulsa A (14:34.700), 8. Texas C (14:37.281), 9. Texas B (14:47.292), 10. Kansas State A (14:51.865), 11. Oklahoma B (14:55.632), 12. Iowa B (15:01.016).

Women's Collegiate Four (Top 12) (Saturday, Oct. 9, 4:20 p.m. CT)
1. Texas B (15:15.137), 2. Stanford A (15:31.076), 3. Texas A (15:32.542), 4. Washington State A (15:34.287), 5. Tulsa A (15:43.137), 6. Washington State B (15:45.752), 7. Texas (15:52.698), 8. Oklahoma A (:57.864), 9. Tulsa B (16:01.322), 10. Kansas State A (16:10.392), 11. Tulsa C (16:11.112), 12. Texas D (16:16.835).

Washington State Cougars Cougar Athletic Fund