Don't have an account? Click Here
Courtesy: Washington State Athletics
Reilly and Adomaviciute Earn All-Conference Honors
Courtesy: Washington State Athletics
Release: 05/30/2013
Print RSS
Related Links

May 30, 2013

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Washington State University freshman Ieva Adomaviciute has been named the 2013 Pac-12 Newcomer of the Year and senior Allie Reilly was named to the Pac-12 All-Conference Team, Commissioner Larry Scott announced Thursday.

Adomaviciute (Kaunas, Lithuania) joined the Cougar rowing team for the spring semester and competed with the varsity eight boat the entire spring season. Reilly (San Diego, Calif.) is a five-year member of the rowing team and also rowed with varsity eight crew this season. The Cougar varsity eight defeated NCAA Championship-participants Wisconsin and Gonzaga this season and placed sixth at the Pac-12 Championships May 19. The entire team earned an at-large selection to the 2013 NCAA Rowing Championships which runs May 31 through June 2.

Members of the all-conference rowing teams are based upon each institution's finish in the varsity eight championship race at the Pac-12 Championships, which were held May 19 on Lake Natoma in Gold River, Calif. The conference champion provides four members of the all-conference team, the Pac-12 second-place crew provides three members and the third-place finisher provides two. All other participating conference crews receive one selection each.

WSU has had a total of 34 rowers earn all-conference accolades dating back to 1988, while at least one WSU rower has been named to the all-conference team in each of the last 20 seasons. Adomaviciute becomes the first Cougar student-athlete to earn a conference individual award, as Jane LaRiviere was named Coach of the Year in 2006.

The other Pac-12 individual awards included Zenon Babraj of USC as Women's Coach of the Year and Melanie Grindle, also of USC, as Women's Athlete of the Year.

Racing begins at the NCAA Championships at 9:10 a.m. ET with the varsity eight first heat. The Championships are being held at Eagle Creek Park in Indianapolis, Ind.

Madison Culp, Washington
Ivana Filipovic, USC
Melanie Grindle, USC
Krisztina Gyimes, USC
Kara Kohler, California
Lindsay Meyer, Stanford
Vineta Moca, USC
Victoria Nenchev, Washington
Aggie Nowinski, California*
Agne Pack, Oregon State
Allie Reilly, Washington State
Marie Strohmayer, Washington
Britta Syverson, UCLA**
*Second career All-Conference Selection
**Third career All-Conference Selection

Women's Athlete of the Year: Melanie Grindle, USC
Women's Newcomer of the Year: Ieva Adomaviciute, WSU
Women's Coach of the Year: Zenon Babraj, USC

Washington State Cougars Rowing