Don't have an account? Click Here
Courtesy: Washington State Athletics
Ieva Adomaviciute
Ieva Adomaviciute Named First Team All-America
Courtesy: Washington State Athletics
Release: 06/11/2013
Print RSS
Related Links

June 11, 2013

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - Washington State University freshman rower Ieva Adomaviciute has been named to the 2013 Pocock All-America First Team, the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) announced this week.

Adomaviciute (Kaunas, Lithuania) joined the Cougars beginning with the 2013 spring semester and in May was named the Pac-12 Newcomer of the Year. This season Adomaviciute has competed in the varsity eight boat in each spring race, leading her crew to a victory over then-15th ranked Wisconsin at the San Diego Crew Classic and wins over Oregon State and Gonzaga in dual action. The varsity eight crew placed 14th at the NCAA Championships, two spots better than its seed heading into the championships. As a whole, the Cougar team placed 14th of the 22 teams at the championships.

The 6-foot-4 rower becomes just the fourth Cougar to be named to the All-America First Team, as Corinna Sharick earned the honors in 2011, Irena Neffeova in 2008 and Sarah Waterfield in 2006. Adomaviciute's honor marks the 13th time a Cougar has been named to the CRCA All-America First or Second Team.

Adomaviciute was named to the CRCA All-West Region First Team in May, which made her eligible to receive All-America accolades.

In order to earn the honors, a student-athlete must have competed in 75 percent of the spring races and been nominated by her institution. The selections are based on the strength of finish of the institution's varsity eight within the country, coaches' comments and the student-athlete's 2k erg score.

Seven rowers from Pac-12 schools were named to the 21-member first team, while four made the 21-person second team.

CRCA 2013 D-I Pocock All-America Awards
All-America First Team
Ieva Adomaviciute, Washington State
Katherine Ashton, Navy
Claire-Louise Bose, Ohio State
Louise Breen, Brown
Molly Bruggeman, Notre Dame
Courtney Diekema, Harvard
Allison Elber, Ohio State
Molly Hamrick, Princeton
Natalie King, Yale
Kara Kohler, California
Natalie Mastracci, Syracuse
Lindsay Meyer, Stanford
Vineta Moca, USC
Agatha Nowinski, California
Kristine O'Brien, Virginia
Melisa Ongun, Michigan
Heidi Robbins, Princeton
Kate Roach, Cornell
Britta Syverson, UCLA
Samantha Warren, Columbia
Rachel Ersted, California, coxswain

All-America Second Team
Leigh Archer, Cornell
Laura Basadonna, Clemson
Christina Bax, Stanford
Erin Boxberger, Notre Dame
Kate Capistran, Rhode Island
Michelle Campbell, San Diego
Gabby Cole, Princeton
Maryann Concannon, Saint Mary's (Calif.)
Sarah Cowburn, Virginia
Jessica Eiffert, Michigan
Tessa Gobbo, Brown
Susanne Grainger, Virginia
Jenna Gregoire, Harvard
Krisztina Gyimes, USC
Eliza Hastings, Yale
Paparangi Hipango, California
Katy Kroll, Iowa
Rixt Miedema, Ohio State
Emily Theys, Duke
Meaghan Volker, UCLA
Annie Prasad, Princeton, coxswain

Washington State Cougars Rowing