Don't have an account? Click Here
Anderson at The Bowerman Ceremony Dec. 14
Courtesy: Washington State Athletics
Release: 12/13/2011
Print RSS
Related Links

Dec. 13, 2011

SAN ANTONIO - The Bowerman, an award giving to the most outstanding male and female student-athletes in collegiate track & field during the 2011 seasons, will be presented Wed., Dec. 14, in conjunction with the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) Convention at the JW Marriott Hill Country, in San Antonio. This is the third year of the award. The Bowerman, which is named for legendary Oregon track & field and cross country coach Bill Bowerman, is in its third year of existence.

The men's finalists are Washington State senior Jeshua Anderson, Florida State junior Ngoni Makusha, and Florida junior Christian Taylor. The women's finalists are Jessica Beard (Texas A&M), Kimberlyn Duncan (LSU), and Tina Sutej (Arkansas). Track & field commentator Lewis Johnson (Universal Sports, NBC Sports, ESPN) will host the evening's events. Reigning women's winner of The Bowerman Queen Harrison (Virginia Tech) will be among the night's special guests.

Flotrack ( will webcast the ceremony and, for the first time, an hour-long preview show beforehand. Coverage begins at 4 p.m. PT, with the "Flotrack Red Carpet Show at The Bowerman" hosted by Ryan Fenton and Alex Lohr featuring a behind-the-scenes look at the USTFCCCA Convention and the ceremony.

Finalists were chosen by the ten-person Bowerman Advisory Board based on performances recorded during the indoor and outdoor 2011 track & field seasons. Only performances through the conclusion of the NCAA Outdoor Track & Field Championships are used in consideration. Voting for the The Bowerman includes members of the Advisory Board, media personnel, statisticians, collegiate administrators, along with past winners and online voting by fans and USTFCCCA members.

Washington State Cougars Athletics