Don't have an account? Click Here
Courtesy: Washington State Athletics
Jeshua Anderson Named Pac-10 Male Track Athlete of the Year
Courtesy: Washington State Athletics
Release: 06/27/2011
Print RSS
Related Links

June 27, 2011

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- Washington State's Jeshua Anderson, four-time Pacific-10 Conference intermediate hurdles champion, three-time NCAA champion and newly crowned USA champion, is the Pac-10 Male Track Athlete of the Year, Commissioner Larry Scott announced Monday.

Anderson, a senior from Woodland Hills, Calif., has had a stellar year including his win Sunday at the USA Track & Field Championships in a school-record and US-leading time of 47.93 seconds. He will represent the United States at both the World University Games August 12-23, in Shenzhen, China, and at the IAAF World Championships in Athletics, August 27 - September 4, at Daegu, Korea.

He had run the previous US-leading time in the 400m hurdles of 48.13 seconds this spring in Tucson winning his fourth consecutive Pac-10 title. Anderson was selected the 2006 Pac-10 Track & Field Male Newcomer of the Year and is only the third man to go on to the Athlete of the Year award since the newcomer award began in 2000.

Anderson, who plans to continue training in Pullman with his collegiate coach Mark Macdonald, will make his professional debut July 22, at the Herculis Meet in Monaco, part of the Diamond League series.

Washington State's previous male athletes honored as track or field athletes of the year by the Pac-10 includes: Anson Henry, sprinter, 2002; Bernard Lagat, middle distance, 1999; Josephat Kapkory, distance, 1994; Samuel Kibiri, distance, 1991; Gabriel Tiacoh, 400m dash, 1986;

The Pac-10 Track & Field and Coach of the Year awards for 2011:
Women's track athlete of the year: Nia Ali, USC
Women's Field Athlete of the year: Brigetta Barrett, Arizona
Women's Freshman/Newcomer of the year: English Gardner, Oregon
Women's Coach of the year: Fred Harvey, Arizona

Men's track athlete of the year: Jeshua Anderson, Washington State
Men's field athlete of the year: Jordan Clarke, Arizona State
Men's freshman/newcomer of the year: Stephen Sambu, Arizona
Men's coach of the year: Fred Harvey, Arizona

Washington State Cougars Athletics