Don't have an account? Click Here
Fourteen Cougars on MPSF Indoor T&F All-Academic Teams
Courtesy: Washington State Athletics
Release: 04/09/2012
Print RSS
Related Links

April 9, 2012

MPSF 2012 Women's Indoor All-Academic Get Acrobat Reader

MPSF 2012 Men's Indoor All-Academic Get Acrobat Reader

WOODLAND, Calif. -- Eight women and six men student-athletes from Washington State University indoor track and field teams have been named to the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation 2012 Indoor Track & Field All-Academic Scholar-Athlete teams Executive Director Al Beaird announced Monday. The criteria for selection includes: 3.00 or better cumulative GPA, be at least a sophomore academically, completed one full academic year at the institution prior to nomination, and must have competed in fifty percent of more of the institution's competition.

The Cougar women who earned the academic honors include: Carly Fitzpatrick (3.73 GPA, junior, pole vault, Sumner), Cassie Whitfield (3.63 GPA, senior, weight throw, Spanaway), Emily Farrar (3.45 GPA, senior, distance, Bainbridge), Jacki Hill (3.29 GPA, senior, 200m/400m, Bremerton), Shaquana Logan (3.26 GPA, junior, 60m hurdles, Tacoma, Kelsey Bueno (3.22 GPA, sophomore, pole vault, Kent), Courtney Zalud (3.21 GPA, sophomore, 800m, Colbert), and Mary Barnett (3.05 GPA, sophomore, shot put, Hermiston, Ore.).

The Cougar men honored include: Jake Baertlein (3.82 GPA, senior, pole vault, Portland, Ore.), Jacob Sealby (3.23 GPA, sophomore, 400m, Wenatchee), John Brenteson (3.19 GPA, sophomore, pole vault, Vancouver, Wash.), J Hopkins (3.19 GPA, senior, 60m hurdles, Everett), Brandon Dawson (3.09 GPA, senior, 400m, Fairfield, Calif.) and Garrett Gerling (3.07 GPA, redshirt freshman, 60m hurdles, Walla Walla).

For the complete list of student-athletes honored for their academic accomplishments, please go to or click on the PDFs above.

Washington State Cougars Athletics