Don't have an account? Click Here
Courtesy: Washington State Athletics
Thompson and Casto Earn Pac-10 Men's Basketball Honors
Courtesy: Washington State Athletics
Release: 03/07/2011
Print RSS
Related Links

March 7, 2011

PULLMAN, Wash. - Washington State University men's basketball juniors Klay Thompson and DeAngelo Casto have each earned Pacific-10 Conference honors, commissioner Larry Scott announced Monday.

For the second year in a row, Thompson, a native of Ladera Ranch, Calif., picked up All-Pac-10 First Team accolades. This year marks the first time since 1996 and 1997 that a Cougar earned first team honors in consecutive seasons. He also becomes just the fourth Cougar to be named to the first team twice, joining Keith Morrison, Mark Hendrickson and Isaac Fontaine. No WSU men's basketball student-athlete has earned conference first team honors more than twice. As a freshman Thompson was named to the Pac-10 All-Freshman Team.

Casto, a native of Spokane, Wash., earned All-Pac-10 Second Team honors, along with being named to the five-man Pac-10 All-Defensive Team. He is just the third Cougar to earn All-Pac-10 second team honors, joining Kyle Weaver (2008) and Don Collins (1979). Casto is the first Cougar to be named to the All-Defensive Team multiples times in a career and the third Cougar to earn defensive honors, as Kyle Weaver was named to the team in 2008 and Robbie Cowgill earned honorable mention that same year. Keith Morrison was named the league's defensive player of the year in 1986. Last season Casto became the 10th WSU player to be named All-Pac-10 Honorable Mention.. As a freshman he was named to the Pac-10 All-Freshman Team.

The Pac-10 All-Conference selections include a 10-player first team and a five-player second team. On top of that, there is a six-person all-freshman team and five-man all-defensive team, as well as a player of the year, freshman of the year, defensive player of the year, most improved player of the year and coach of the year. Players earning at least three votes in the all-conference, all-freshman and all-defensive categories receive honorable mention accolades.

Thompson, the Cougars' leading scorer, is first in the conference and 12th in the nation with a team-best 21.4 points per game. He ranks first in the Pac-10 in 3-point field goals made (2.9 mpg), third in free throw percentage (.829), third in steals (1.8 spg), fifth in assists (4.0 apg), eighth in blocked shots (1.0 bpg) and ninth in steals (1.8 spg), while playing a league fourth-most 34.5 minutes a game.

With 44 blocks this season, Casto ranks third in the conference averaging 1.6 blocked shots an outing. He ranks third on the team with 12.0 points per game and has a team-best 6.8 rebounds a game. Casto ranks second overall in the league in field goal percentage (.600) and first in Pac-10 games only (.627). He similarly ranks eighth in rebounding (6.8 rpg), and ninth in defensive rebounds a game (4.8 drpg).

WSU (19-11, 9-9) takes its No. 6 seed into the Pacific-10 Conference Tournament where it will take on third-seeded Washington (20-10, 11-7), Thursday, March 10 at 8:40 p.m. at Staples Center in Los Angeles.

Name (School), Pos., Yr., Ht., Wt.
Matthew Bryan-Amaning (WASH), F, Sr., 6-9, 240
Jeremy Green (STAN), G, Jr., 6-4, 198
Jorge Gutierrez (CAL), G, Jr., 6-3, 195
Tyler Honeycutt (UCLA), F, So., 6-8, 183
Malcolm Lee (UCLA), G, Jr., 6-4, 195
Reeves Nelson (UCLA), F, So., 6-8, 235
Isaiah Thomas (WASH), G, Jr., 5-9, 185
Klay Thompson (WSU), G, Jr., 6-6, 202
Nikola Vucevic (USC), F, Jr., 6-10, 240
Derrick Williams (ARIZ), F., So., 6-8, 240

Name (School), Pos., Yr., Ht., Wt.
DeAngelo Casto (WSU), F, Jr., 6-8, 255
Joevan Catron (ORE), F, Sr., 6-6, 237
Jared Cunningham (OSU), G, So., 6-4, 182
Harper Kamp (CAL), F, Jr., 6-8, 245
Trent Lockett (ASU), G, So., 6-4, 211
Honorable Mention (receiving at least three votes): Ty Abbott (ASU, Sr., G) Allen Crabbe (CAL, Fr., G) Lamont Jones (ARIZ, So., G), Josh Owens (STAN, Jr., F).

Anthony Brown (STAN), G/F, 6-7, 200
Allen Crabbe (CAL), G, 6-4, 165
Maurice Jones (USC), G, 5-7, 155
Dwight Powell (STAN), F, 6-10, 227
Joshua Smith (UCLA), C, 6-10, 305
C.J. Wilcox (WASH), G, 6-5, 190
Honorable Mention (receiving at least three votes): Jordin Mayes (ARIZ, G), Terrence Ross (WASH, G).

Name (School), Pos., Yr., Ht., Wt.
DeAngelo Casto (WSU), F, Jr., 6-8, 255
Jared Cunningham (OSU), G, So., 6-4, 182
Jorge Gutierrez (CAL), G, Jr., 6-3, 195
Malcolm Lee (UCLA), G, Jr., 6-4, 195
Marcus Simmons (USC), G, Sr., 6-6, 220
Honorable Mention (receiving at least three votes): Matthew Bryan-Amaning (WASH, Sr., F), Kyle Fogg (ARIZ, Jr., G), Justin Holiday (WASH, Sr., F)

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Derrick Williams, Arizona
FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Allen Crabbe, California
MOST IMPROVED PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Matthew Bryan-Amaning, Washington
COACH OF THE YEAR: Sean Miller, Arizona

Washington State Cougars Men's Basketball