Don't have an account? Click Here
Courtesy: Washington State Athletics
Lafler and Roberts Lead WSU Harriers at Pac-10 Championships
Courtesy: Washington State Athletics
Release: 10/30/2010
Print RSS
Related Links

Oct. 30, 2010

Pac-10 Championships Results in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

SEATTLE, Wash. -- The Washington State men's cross country team finished sixth and the women's team finished ninth at the 41st Annual Men's and 25th Annual Women's Pacific-10 Championships held at the Jefferson Park Golf Course in Seattle Saturday morning. The temperature at race time was 46 degrees with light rain falling intermittently during the women's race but throughout the entire men's race.

Jono Lafler, a junior from Maple Valley, Wash., was the first WSU man to cross the finish line, taking 20th place in a time of 24 minutes 2.07 seconds. The rest of the Cougar scorers included Andrew Kimpel in 32nd at 24:21.11, Justin Englund 36th in 24:29.87, David Hickerson 37th in 24:30.79, and Andrew Gonzales 41st in 24:39.44. Non-scoring runners for WSU included Peter Miller 56th (25:11.98), Kyle Boe 56th (25:28.99), Mack Young 68th (25:44.34), Drew Jordan 68th (25:47.30) and Richard Shroy 70th (25:49.99).

Elliott Heath won the men's individual title, led the Stanford men's team to a first through third individual finish, and to the Cardinal's 12th conference title. Stanford scored 25 points, followed by Oregon with 56 and California's 86. Fourth through ninth were: UCLA (101), Arizona State (143), Washington State (158), Washington (181), and Arizona (195).

Ruby Roberts, a freshman from Kingston, Wash., was the top Cougar woman to cross the finish line at 37th place in a time of 21:06.70. The other WSU women scoring at the championships included Caroline Austin 48th (21:31.00), Sarah Bobbe in 58th (21:44.64), Allison Clark 63rd (21:56.58), and Courtney Zalud 72nd (22:15.76). Other WSU women and their places were Ashlee Wall Eskelsen 74th (22:17.84), Ramona Morshead 76th (22:21.75), Emily Farrar 78th (22:41.84), and Amanda Andrews 89th (23:15.62).

Oregon's Jordan Hasay won the women's race individual title in a time of 19:44.95, with Stanford's Kathy Kroeger the runner-up (19:49.43) but leading the Cardinal to the 15th conference team title. The top four women's teams were within six points: Stanford 62, Arizona 65, Oregon 68, and Washington 68. California finished fifth (132) followed by UCLA (165), Arizona State (188), Oregon State (245), Washington State (252), and USC (257).

The NCAA West Regional Championships are the next races for the Cougars, Nov. 13, in Springfield, Ore.

Washington State Cougars Baseball