Don't have an account? Click Here
Courtesy: Washington State Athletics
Mayes, Williams Among Candidates For College Football HOF
Courtesy: Washington State Athletics
Release: 03/04/2004
Print RSS
Related Links

March 4, 2004

PULLMAN, Wash. --- Former Washington State football stars Rueben Mayes and the late Clarence Williams are among 76 coaches and nine players on the College Football Hall of Fame Division I-A Ballot released Thursday.

Mayes earned consensus first team All-America honors in 1984 and owns Washington State's single season (1,632) and career (3,519) rushing records. Mayes is best known for his performance against Oregon in 1984 when he set the NCAA record with 357 yards on the ground.

Williams was a first team All-America selection in 1964 and was among the most versatile offensive threats in program history. As a junior, the Renton, Wash., native led the Cougars in rushing, scoring, and kickoff returns. He did the same as a senior, but also became the team leader in total offense, receptions, and punt returns.

The list of 76 players eligible for induction includes Troy Aikman, who played at Oklahoma and UCLA, Eric Dickerson of Southern Methodist, Major Harris of West Virginia, and Deion Sanders and Charlie Ward of Florida State. Pat Dye, LaVell Edwards, and Don Nehlen headline the list of coaches.

The ballot was sent to more than 13,000 members of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame whose votes will be recorded and submitted to the Foundation's Honors Court, which deliberates and ultimately selects the class.

The Hall of Fame Class will be announced in mid-April and inducted at the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame's 47th Awards Dinner Dec. 7, 2004 at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York.

Washington State Cougars Football