MEMBER SIGN IN
Don't have an account? Click Here
Four Cougar Rowers Competing at 2009 Canada Games
T
+
-
Courtesy: Washington State Athletics
Release: 08/19/2009
Send Mail Print RSS
Related Links

Aug. 19, 2009

PRINCE EDWARD ISLAND, Canada - Four current Washington State University women's rowers are participating in the Canada Games and will compete in the finals of four different events Thursday and Friday, Aug. 20 and 21 at the Southwest River on Canada's Prince Edward Island.

WSU rising redshirt sophomore Sarah Powell (North Saanich), rising sophomore Katie Dick (Victoria) and transfer Lisa Roman (Langley) are competing for British Columbia, while transfer Jessica Start (Saskatoon) is rowing for Saskatchewan.

All four Cougars competed in the women's eight, as Dick, Powell and Roman, placed first in the preliminary round for B.C. with a time of 4:05.98. Start's Saskatchewan team placed second in heat one of the preliminary round with a time of 4:11.53 and first in the repechage with a time of 3:58.09. Both teams will compete in the finals Thursday, Aug. 20 at 11:50 a.m. PDT (3:50 p.m. ADT).

Dick and Roman rowed together for British Columbia in the women's four, as the team placed first in the preliminary round with a time of 4:34.42. Start competed in the event for Saskatchewan, finishing second in the preliminaries with a time of 4:44.61 and second in the repechage with a mark of 4:41.97. Both teams will compete in the finals Friday, Aug. 21 at 12:10 p.m. PDT (4:10 p.m. ADT).

In the quadruple scull, both Dick and Powell helped lead British Columbia to another first place finish in preliminaries with a time of 4:11.65. The two Cougars will compete in the finals Thursday, Aug. 20 at 10:10 a.m. PDT (2:10 p.m. ADT).

Roman is also competing in the women's pair event for British Columbia. Her team placed first in the prelims with a time of 4:46.67 and will compete in Thursday's final at 9:50 a.m. PDT (1:50 p.m. ADT).

WSU Rowers in the Finals
Women's Pairs (2-) - Thursday, Aug. 20 - 9:50 a.m. PDT
Women's Quadruple Scull (W4x) - Thursday, Aug. 20 - 10:10 a.m. PDT
Women's Eight (W8+) - Thursday, Aug. 20 - 11:50 a.m. PDT
Women's Four (W4-) - Friday, Aug. 21 - 12:10 p.m. PDT

Washington State Cougars Rowing
advertisement