Don't have an account? Click Here
Lisa Roman Named Pac-12 All-Conference
Courtesy: Washington State Athletics
Release: 05/24/2012
Print RSS
Related Links

May 24, 2012

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - For the second-straight season, Washington State University senior rower Lisa Roman has been named to the 2012 Pac-12 Women's Rowing All-Conference Team, Commissioner Larry Scott announced Thursday.

Roman (Langley, British Columbia) is in her third season with the Cougar rowing team, having rowed in the varsity eight boat all three years. Last summer she represented Canada at the Under-23 World Rowing Championships. Washington State placed sixth at this year's Pac-12 Championships and recorded team victories over Oregon State and Gonzaga during the spring season.

Members of the all-conference rowing teams are based upon each institution's finish in the varsity eight championship race at the Pac-12 Championships, which were held May 13 on Lake Natoma in Gold River, Calif. The conference champion provides four members of the all-conference team, the Pac-12 second-place crew provides three members and the third-place finisher provides two. All other participating conference crews receive one selection each.

WSU has had a total of 33 rowers earn all-conference accolades dating back to 1988, while at least one WSU rower has been named to the all-conference team in each of the last 20 seasons. Roman becomes just the third Cougar rower to earn all-league honors twice in her career, joining Sarah Waterfield (2006, 2007), Jody Thomas (2005, 2006) and current WSU novice coach, Corrie McGrath (2002, 2003).

Earlier this week, Roman was named to the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) Division I All-West Region First Team.

The Pac-12 also released its individual awards as California's Dave O'Neill was named Women's Coach of the Year, California senior Elise Etem was named Women's Athlete of the Year, and Oregon State sophomore Anna Taylor was selected Women's Newcomer of the Year.

Anastasia Alexander, UCLA
Elise Etem, California *
Kirstyn Goodger, Washington
Paparangi Hipango, California
Kelsey Jackson, Washington
Erin Lauber, Washington
Michelle Leason, California
Daphne Martschenko, Stanford
Agatha Nowinski, California
Lisa Roman, Washington State *
Melissa Sloan, Oregon State
Britta Syverson, UCLA *
Lenka Vrecnikova, USC
* Second career All-Conference selection

Women's Athlete of the Year: Elise Etem, California
Women's Newcomer of the Year: Anna Taylor, Oregon State
Women's Coach of the Year: Dave O'Neill, California

Washington State Cougars Rowing