Don't have an account? Click Here
Courtesy: Washington State Athletics
Bosch Named Burlsworth Trophy Nominee
Courtesy: Washington State Athletics
Release: 11/19/2013
Print RSS
Related Links

SPRINGDALE, Ark.  Washington State redshirt-senior center Elliott Bosch was named a Burlsworth Trophy nominee, the Springdale Rotary Club announced recently. Bosch is one of 53 football student-athletes selected as nominees for the award, given to the most outstanding collegiate football player who began his career as a walk-on.

Bosch walked on at WSU in 2009 and took over at center as redshirt-junior last season, starting all 12 games and playing every offensive snap. The Spokane, Wash. native has started all 10 games this season, leading an offensive line that has blocked for the country’s seventh-best passing offense and posted 10 rushing touchdowns, already surpassing last year’s total of six. Bosch was an All-Pac-12 honorable mention pick last season and earned Midseason All-Pac-12 second team honors by Phil Steele Magazine this season.

The Burlsworth Trophy is given to the most outstanding collegiate football player who began his career as a walk-on. A walk-on is defined as a player who began his first season of participation with a Division I (FBS) football program without financial aid of any kind from his university’s athletic department.

The trophy is named in honor of Brandon Burlsworth, who walked on to the Arkansas Razorbacks in 1994, worked his way to being a three-year starter and was eventually named an All-American in 1998.

The 2013 Burlsworth Trophy nominees are:

Player                                   Class                      Position                               School

Cody Mandell                    Senior                   Punter                                  Alabama

Jared Tevis                          Junior                    Safety                                   Arizona

Gannon Conway              Senior                   Defensive tackle              Arizona State    

Alan D’Appollonio            Junior                    Snapper                               Arkansas

Charleston Girley             Sophomore        Defensive back                 Arkansas State

Trent Fisher                        Junior                    Safety                                   Auburn

Jamill Smith                        Senior                   Wide receiver                    Ball State

Clay Fuller                           Junior                    Wide receiver                    Baylor

Ryan Burbrink                    Sophomore        Wide receiver                    Bowling Green

JD Falslev                             Senior                   Wide receiver                    BYU

Brandon Alexander         Junior                    Safety                                   Central Florida

Justin Cherocci                  Junior                    Linebacker                          Central Michigan

Chandler Catanzaro        Senior                   Kicker                                    Clemson

Ryan Iverson                      Senior                   Snapper                               Colorado

Jared Roberts                    Junior                    Kicker                                    Colorado State

Cole Wagner                      Senior                   Punter                                  Connecticut

Justin Hardy                       Junior                    Wide receiver                    East Carolina

Jonathan Norton              Senior                   Defensive back                 Fresno State

Jonathan Wallace             Senior                   Running back                     Florida Atlantic

Robert Godhigh                    Senior                   Running back                     Georgia Tech

Luke Stice                            Sophomore        Fullback                                Houston

Mike Meyer                       Senior                   Kicker                                    Iowa

Ryan Mueller                     Junior                    Defensive end                  Kansas State

Casey Pierce                      Junior                    Tight end                             Kent State

Kelly Mason                       Sophomore        Snapper                               Kentucky

Seth Fruge                          Senior                   Linebacker                          LSU

Chris Jasperse                   Junior                    Center                                  Marshall

Brandon Hayes                 Senior                   Running back                     Memphis

Jordan Holder                    Senior                   Wide receiver                    Mississippi

Max Copeland                   Senior                   Guard                                   Missouri

Spencer Long                     Senior                   Guard                                   Nebraska

Davis Cazares                     Senior                   Safety                                   New Mexico State

Zach Gentry                       Senior                   Linebacker                          North Carolina State

Craig Cataline                     Junior                    Linebacker                          Ohio State

Aaron Ripkowski              Junior                    Fullback                                Oklahoma

Michael Kutzler                 Senior                   Linebacker                          Rice

Chad Young                        Senior                   Fullback                                San Diego State               

Chandler Jones                 Senior                   Wide receiver                    San Jose State

Sidney Rhodes                  Junior                    Cornerback                         South Carolina

Marvin Kloss                      Junior                    Kicker                                    South Florida

David Parry                         Senior                   Defensive tackle              Stanford

Jon Koontz                          Senior                   Defensive end                  TCU

Cody Booth                        Senior                   Tackle                                   Temple

Travis Labhart                    Senior                   Wide receiver                    Texas A&M

Steven Kurfehs                 Senior                   Linebacker                          Texas-San Antonio

Charlie Will Tuttle             Junior                    Center                                  Texas State

Baker Mayfield                 Freshman            Quarterback                       Texas Tech

Trey Watts                          Senior                   Running back                     Tulsa

Jake Doughty                     Senior                   Linebacker                          Utah State

Jack Tyler                             Senior                   Linebacker                          Virginia Tech

Spencer Bishop                 Senior                   Tight end                             Wake Forest       

Elliott Bosch                        Senior                   Center                                  Washington State

Jared Abbrederis             Senior                   Wide receiver                    Wisconsin

For more information about the Burlsworth Trophy, visit

Washington State Cougars Football