MEMBER SIGN IN
Don't have an account? Click Here
Courtesy: Washington State Athletics
Washington St. to Face Butler at Old Spice Classic
T
+
-
Courtesy: Washington State Athletics
Release: 07/16/2013
Send Mail Print RSS
Related Links

ORLANDO, Fla. – Washington State University men’s basketball will face 2013 NCAA Tournament-participant, Butler, in its first game of the Old Spice Classic, Thursday, Nov. 28 at 11 a.m. PT at HP Field House at ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex near Orlando, Fla., ESPN Regional Television (ERT), announced Tuesday.

 

The matchup between the Cougars and Bulldogs will be televised on ESPN2. The other three matchups scheduled for Thanksgiving Day are Purdue vs. Oklahoma State in the first game of the day at 9 a.m. PT, while Memphis will take on Siena at 3:30 p.m. PT and LSU faces Saint Joseph’s at 5:30 p.m. PT. The second day of action kicks off Friday, Nov. 29 at 8 a.m. PT with consolation #1 (on ESPNU), followed by semifinal #1 at 10:30 a.m. PT (on ESPN), semifinal #2 at 2:30 p.m. PT (on ESPN2) and consolation #2 at 5 p.m. PT (on ESPNU).

 

Teams will have a break from games on Saturday, Nov. 30, before the final games Sunday, Dec. 1. The first game of the day will be the fifth-place game held at 9 a.m. PT on ESPNU, followed by the third-place game at 11 a.m. PT on ESPNU and the seventh-place game at 2 p.m. PT on ESPN3. The 2013 Old Spice Champion will be crowned in the final game of the day at 4:30 p.m. PT on ESPN2, Sunday, Dec. 1.

 

Washington State has faced Butler one other time in the two schools’ histories, in a similar tournament, and also on a holiday. The Bulldogs defeated the Cougars, 84-68, Christmas Day, Dec. 25, 2010 in the championship game of the Diamond Head Classic at Honolulu, Hawaii.

 

The 2013 Old Spice Classic, a bracket-format tournament, will feature 12 games over the three days. Each team will compete in one game per day, advancing through a bracket-tournament format. The two teams that remain undefeated throughout will face off in a championship match Sunday, Dec. 1.

 

The family-friendly tournament is a weekend-long affair at the Walt Disney World Resort where participating teams practice, play and enjoy the Walt Disney World Resort Theme Parks. Travel packages are available for fans and include resort accommodations at the team hotel, game tickets, theme park tickets and much more. Visit AnthonyTravel.com/OSC or call 888-632-6951 to make your reservation today.

 

Sponsors include Old Spice, Samsonite and ESPN’s Wide World of Sports. The Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference (MAAC) will serve as the event’s sponsoring conference for the seventh-straight year.

 

Gonzaga won the 2012 Old Spice Classic, its second tournament victory after claiming the 2008 title. Previous winners were Dayton in 2011, Notre Dame in 2010, Florida State in 2009, North Carolina State in 2007 and Arkansas in 2006.

 

The Old Spice Classic is owned and operated by ESPN Regional Television (ERT), a subsidiary of ESPN.

  

2013 OLD SPICE CLASSIC SCHEDULE

HP FIELD HOUSE AT ESPN WIDE WORLD OF SPORTS COMPLEX

Thursday, Nov. 28

Purdue vs. Oklahoma State (ESPN2), 9 a.m. PT (noon ET)

Butler vs. Washington State (ESPN2), 11 a.m. PT (2 p.m. ET)

Memphis vs. Siena (ESPN2), 3:30 p.m. PT (6:30 p.m. ET)

LSU vs. Saint Joseph’s (ESPN2), 5:30 p.m. PT (8:30 p.m. ET)

 

Friday, Nov. 29

Consolation #1 (ESPNU), 8 a.m. PT (11 a.m. ET)

Semifinal #1 (ESPN), 10:30 a.m. PT (1:30 p.m. ET)

Semifinal #2 (ESPN2), 2:30 p.m. PT (5:30 p.m. ET)

Consolation #2 (ESPNU), 5 p.m. PT (8 p.m. ET)

 

Sunday, Dec. 1

Fifth-place Game (ESPNU), 9 a.m. PT (noon ET)

Third-place Game (ESPNU), 11a.m. PT (2 p.m. ET)

Seventh-place Game (ESPN3), 2 p.m. PT (5 p.m. ET)

Championship Game (ESPN2), 4:30 PT (7:30 p.m. ET)

Washington State Cougars Men's Basketball
advertisement

advertisement